My Favourite Japanese Restaurants in Singapore

1. Botan Resturant @ Pekin Street

I love this cosy and humble restaurant. The food served here is fresh, and the master himself is so sincere and attentive. Just a brief personal encounter with the master to share. I went there for a meal alone during lunch time. As you would expect, it was rather busy during lunch hours and the staff were all attending to others. I was sat at the bar and was slightly upset that I couldn’t get the servers’ attention to fill my tea.

As I was about to give up, the master saw me. He took the trouble and came out from where he was, fetched and refilled the tea for me, and silently went back to his counter. No words were exchanged, but the warmth and gentle smile he gave left an impression 🙂

Some may find it a little pricey, but for the quality and quantity you’re getting, it’s way more worth the money you pay.

My personal recommendation would be the Negitoro don (SGD 17++) and Unagi set (SGD 25++). Their lunch sets are also popular, but I would recommend against chicken dishes.

Last but not least an insider’s tip! The best time to dine there is possibly Tuesday evening. That’s the day the restaurant’s supplies are flown in.

Address
37 Pekin Street
Singapore 048761

Opening hours
1130 – 1500; 1800 – 2200 (Mon-Sat)
Closed on Sundays

Phone
+65 6536 4404

2. Sumire Yakitori House @ Bugis Junction
This restaurant is always buzzing with life and activity! It’s a casual dining place and I love the food there. So far, I haven’t tasted anything nasty there!They serve a range of food items, their speciality being Yakitori. Surprisingly, their raw seafood is above average standard as well. My personal favourite at Sumire is theirTsukune(i.e. chicken meatballs; SGD 4.90++). They come in two sizes – for Ladies (3, smaller) and for Men (2, bigger). I’ll recommend to dip it in raw egg yolk! It tastes so awesome.Another item I would also recommend is its Bakudan Korokke(special homemade potato croquette; SGD 8.90++). It’s quite big, suitable for sharing. I’m not gonna spoil the surprise on what’s inside, but it’s definitely worth a try!

Reservation is advisable for big groups – the restaurant’s often quite busy, even on weekday evenings. There’s discount on the alcoholic drinks during happy hours as well.

Address
Bugis Junction
80 Middle Rd, #01-88/89
Singapore 188966

Opening hours
1130 – 2230 (everyday)

Phone
+65 6338 9963

3. Sushi Tei (multiple locations)

This must be really one of my constants in life. I’ve celebrated birthdays there, spent countless evenings, and also hid there for comfort meals when the need arises. I like for the fact that it has a wide and varied menu, and serve quite tasty food. My personal favourite outlets would be Ngee Ann City, Paragon and VivoCity.

Here are recommended menu items if you don’t know where to begin with. The Sashimi Salad (SGD 9.90++) is a popular choice as it’s healthy and the portion is quite generous for its price. My usual dressing is wafu (Japanese style). The Salmon Belly Miso Soup (SGD 8.80++), Kaki Mentai Mayo Roll (SGD 9.80++), Garlic Fried Rice (SGD 8.80++) and Hanasaki Ika Tempura (SGD 6.30++) are some of the regular items on my orders too.

If you don’t already know, Sushi Tei is actually a Singapore company – be proud! Anyway, having a Sushi Tei member has very decent perks! Not only do you accumulate points (to exchange for credits) for your spendings, you also get 10% off your bill. During your birthday month (need to flash IC for verification), the discount is upsized – it’s 20% off. The drawback is you always have to bring the physical membership card along – they don’t accept otherwise.

***

With this 3, I’ll end this post! I realized I have many more to recommend and write about – will follow up with future posts! 🙂

Hope my brief insights and experiences serve as a good reference for you!

My Favourite Japanese Restaurants in Singapore

2 thoughts on “My Favourite Japanese Restaurants in Singapore

Leave a Reply

