My Favourite Japanese Restaurants (Part 2)

Following my post last week, I’m back with a part two on my list of favourite Japanese restaurants here in Singapore! ๐Ÿ™‚

1. Hana Hana @ Tras Link

Let me make a disclaimer first: so far I’ve only been to Hana-Hana during lunch time, so I don’t know how their dinner time / skewers are like.

Still, I really want to let you know about their Bara-Chirashi-donย (SGD 15++)

What’s more, they serve complimentary side dishes. I love it on days when they serve soy braised beef and daikon. Just be forewarned that they are usually very packed during lunch; so don’t be expecting stellar service standards.

FYI, Hana-Hana is opened by the famed Teppei Japanese Restaurant (they’re side by side!).

Address
1 Tras Link
Singapore 078867

Opening hours
1200-1430 (Everyday)
1830 – 2230 (Except Sunday)

Phone
+65 6222 7363

2. MaguroDonya MiuramisakiKou Sushi & Dining @ Suntec Cityย 



This is one of the more recent finds! I first stumbled upon this after I caught a movie at Suntec City. MaguroDonya gets its supplies from Miura Misaki Kou (Misaki Port, Japan), specializing in sashimi and sushi grade Maguro.They also claim to be even fresher than supplies from Tsukiji Market!

Other than ordering the Chutoro Sushi (SGD 26++), I ordered the Chef’s Special Weekly Menu (SGD 18.80++). As the name suggests, that special don that is created by the chef weekly, and is the wild card on the menu.

I didn’t want to spoil my own surprise, so I didn’t get the waiter to let me know what exactly is served. To my surprise, it was actually Fried Maguro! It was juicy, and had a very unique texture. At first, I was confused by the taste and thought it was fried chicken. But it was definitely a lot more tender. What a steal it was! The portion was generous and I enjoyed it very much.

Address
3 Temasek Boulevard #03-314
Suntec City Mall
Singapore 038983
(Within Eat at 7)

Opening hours
1130 – 1430
1730 – 2230 (everyday)

Phone
+65 6684 5054

3. Gyukaku (multiple locations)


When I think about yakiniku (grilled meat), I think about Gyukaku! It’s a yakiniku chain from Japan and it has a great selection of BEEF. I simply love the beef here, my favourite being the Wagyu Karubi (SGD 24++) of course! I also love the Beef Tongue (SGD 9.80++)!

Some people might be turned off by the idea of eating beef tongue, but trust me, you’ll be missing out if you never try! It is tender and contrary to what some people may think, it does not have a pungent taste. The grilled beef tongue goes well with a dip with lemon juice, which enhances the taste of the meat.

The bill size at Gyukaku might be a little big when there’s no promotions. For more economical options, you may go for their SGD 42.90++ yakiniku buffet, or weekday lunch sets! Remember, you’re paying for quality food ๐Ÿ™‚

**
Hope my lists of Japanese restaurants serve as some reference for you! Do recommend me your favourite Japanese restaurants if you’ve got any to share!

My Favourite Japanese Restaurants (Part 2)

Leave a Reply

