Yamazaki Kento’s New Scandal?!

yamaken

バッチリ撮られた
It’s captured on point.

This is the latest Instagram post from Yamazaki Kento which caught me by surprise. Since when did this boy become so public with his relationship status?!

From what I’ve gathered about him so far, he’s always been quite covert about relationships and has maintained a rather boyish persona – he frequently hangs out with his male buddies, he was still staying with his family up until last year, he often acts in Shoujo (teenage girl) manga adapted movies, etc.

So why?!

Sorry if I had unintentionally misled you. Turns out, it is actually an advertising campaign stunt Samsung Galaxy S7 edge. Phew!

Some may easily dismiss this as yet another cheesy advertisement – after all, it simply uses the most foolproof formula of using popular personalities for the campaign. However, I did think the ad is creative and clever in some ways!

  1. It rethinks about the reasons people use ‘selfies’ and effortlessly showcase the new wide lense front camera
  2. Under 3 minutes, it left quite an impression. (You can’t deny that the beautiful art direction for the ad! And the product placement weren’t too annoying.)
  3. Most importantly, it gave a lifeless device meaning ❤

yamaken-2

I quite like the hashtag for this campaign, which is #どんな君も逃さない It translates to ‘I won’t let slip any face of you’. I’m not sure about you, but it certainly left me with a warm, fuzzy feeling.

This is really an apt example of how ads can be effective without being too bombastic. It may not be the arty-farty, award winning kind of ad, but I’m sure the marketers will hit their objectives and up their brand image.

Yamazaki Kento’s New Scandal?!

2 thoughts on “Yamazaki Kento’s New Scandal?!

  1. Joreyna Mae Melicor says:

    Reblogged this on Live On Love (LOL) and commented:
    I love Kento Yamazaki as an actor… I have been watching his movies and I cried a lot in Orange, laughed a lot in Wolf Girl and the Black Prince..and I am looking forward to his other projects 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

